HBCU Leadership Delegation Visits China

7 presidents and senior administrators from Historically Black Colleges and Universities visited China from May 30 to June 6, 2015. The group visited the campuses of Nanjing Normal University, Yangzhou University, Ningbo University and Fudan University to solidify relationships for student exchange. The delegation was sponsored and hosted by the Chinese People’s Association for Friendship with Foreign Countries (CPAFFC) and the China – United States Exchange Foundation (CUSEF).

The delegation was led by Dr. David Wilson, president of Morgan State University and Chairman of the HBCU – China Scholarship Network. Other delegates included Dr. Elmira Mangum, president of Florida A&M University; Dr. Roslyn Clark Artis, president of Florida Memorial University; Dr. Dwaun Warmack, president of Harris-Stowe State University; Dr. Lester Newman, president of Jarvis Christian College; Dr. Timothy Sams, Vice President for Student Development, Morehouse College and Dr. Juliana Mosley, Vice President for Student Affairs, Lincoln University (PA).

The 2015 HBCU delegation is a follow-up visit to the 2013 HBCU delegation to China hosted by the CUSEF. During the 2013 visit, the delegation was introduced to China’s Vice Premier Madam Liu Yandong by Mr. Tung Chee Hwa, founding chairman of CUSEF. Madam Liu subsequently awarded the HBCUs with 1,000 scholarships for their students to study at Chinese institutions, with costs for tuition and room and board to be covered by the Chinese government. In July 2014, Madam Liu made a formal announcement during the U.S. China Consultation on People-to-People Exchange (CPE) meeting in Beijing at the Hall of the People alongside her co-host, U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry. Since the formal announcement of the scholarships, the HBCUs have begun developing relationships, collaborations and partnerships with various Chinese universities to implement the scholarship program.

During the visit, the 2015 HBCU delegation also met with representatives from the Chinese Ministry of Education and China Education Association for International Exchange (CEAIE), plus top administrators from the four Chinese university campuses (listed above) to discuss further collaboration. The institutions represented in the delegation are members of the HBCU – China Scholarship Network managed by Wilson Global.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

17 − fourteen =